Skip to content

Stages of grief

    The death of a loved one is a difficult and painful experience that can trigger a range of emotions, including sadness, anger, guilt, and confusion. It is not uncommon for people to experience what is commonly referred to as the “stages of grief” as they come to terms with their loss.

    A white coffin adorned with flowers at a cemetery with mourners standing nearby

    Five stages of grief

    The concept of the stages of grief was first introduced by psychiatrist Elisabeth Kubler-Ross in her 1969 book “On Death and Dying.” Kubler-Ross identified five distinct stages that many people go through as they grieve: denial, anger, bargaining, depression, and acceptance.


    This is a defence mechanism that helps the individual to cope with the overwhelming pain and shock of the loss. The person may have trouble accepting that the death has occurred and may feel numb or in a state of disbelief. They may also have trouble remembering details about the death or the deceased.


    Anger is a natural response to the loss, and it can be directed at anyone or anything, including the deceased, themselves, or God. The person may feel resentful, betrayed, and even rageful. They may blame others for the death and question why it happened.


    This is a stage where the person may try to make deals or promises in an attempt to regain control over the situation. They may also try to find meaning in the death. For example, “if only I had done something differently, this would not have happened.”


    This stage is characterized by feelings of sadness, hopelessness, and helplessness. The person may withdraw from friends and family, and may have trouble sleeping and eating. They may also feel a sense of emptiness or a sense that life is no longer worth living.


    This stage is not always reached and some people may remain stuck in one of the previous stages. However, if it is reached, the person begins to come to terms with the death and begins to move forward with their life. They may still feel sadness and pain. But they are able to accept the death and find ways to continue living.

    Moving between stages

    It’s important to note that grief is not linear and people may move back and forth between stages. It is also different for everyone and can take different amount of time.

    It’s also important to note that grief is not only for the immediate family members but also for friends, colleagues, and even the community. People may grieve differently and the process may be different for each person.

    Additionally, do seek help if the grief is interfering with daily life, causing self-harm or suicidal thoughts, or worsening over time. A therapist or counsellor can offer support, coping strategies, and provide a safe space to talk about the loss and the grief process.

    In conclusion, grief is a natural and normal response to the loss of a loved one. The stages of grief, as outlined by Kubler-Ross, provide a framework for understanding. Grief is a personal and unique experience and that seeking help is a sign of strength.

    Get in touch with us

    Can we help you with memorial or funeral streaming? We’re always here to chat.

    About the author

    CeremonyCast Sydney Funeral Wedding Live Streaming Webcast Stephen Lee

    Written by Stephen Lee
    Owner, CeremonyCast​Professional Funeral Live Streaming

    Covering Sydney, Southern Highlands, Wollongong, Central Coast, Newcastle & The Hunter